It’s a Trust Thing

IMG_0361Trust is a funny thing. Sometimes we give it too freely and end up grieved in return. Sometimes we hold it back, even when it’s in our best interest to give it.

We fly away to Okinawa today, but God is already using this trip to teach me a few lessons.

I know that any other mom will understand the feelings I have about leaving my children home while I travel to the other side of the world. Am I being irresponsible? Will they be safe? Will I be safe? What if something horribly awful happens? I could go on, but you get my point.

Honestly, this flood of questions began before I even decided to join my husband on this adventure. And I have continued to wade through them daily. Right now the anxiety of leaving my kids behind is overshadowing the excitement of serving God. (By the way, I’m teaching a workshop on overcoming worry and anxiety at the camp this week. Hmmmmm………….)

But the beauty in the midst of this turmoil is the confidence I have in obedience. This is a fear God means for me to face. Though the questions arise I have a foundation of peace and hope in Christ. He has called me to go for this moment in time. How can I refuse?

So off I go, leaving my children in the capable hands of their grandparents, because I trust them. But more importantly, I trust Him. Our lives are in His hand. He knew the number of our days before we had even lived one of them.

Time for me to take a cry break………………………

I’m back, and on a lighter note our packing and planning are wrapping up. Our flight leaves PDX tonight at 9:30 headed to San Francisco. After a short layover, we board a plane for Taiwan which arrives Saturday morning, Taiwan time. Since we have a 12 hour layover there, we managed to squeeze in a tour of the area – we may even get to take a trip to the top of the world’s second tallest building! Saturday evening we catch another plane to Okinawa. Sunday morning we will take a ferry ride out to Tokishiki where the camp will be held. Sunday is prep day and then the High School students come Monday morning. It’s going to be a crazy whirlwind of activity and we are trusting that God will sustain us.

Hopefully we can give some updates as the week progresses!

Please pray for safety for our whole group and that we would be effective ministers God’s Word. And say a special pray for comfort of this momma’s heart!

One thought on “It’s a Trust Thing

  1. So glad you are starting a blog. Hopefully you will be able to squeeze a little time in the next two weeks to tell us some of what you are doing and thinking. Your children will do well but will rejoice when you return. We will be praying for all of you. From GmG

    Like

Leave a Reply

